Skip to main content
Search

Polling District and Polling Places Statutory Review 2018

Closing date: 7 November 2018

We will commence our statutory review of polling districts and polling places, as required under Section 18 of the Representation of the People Act 1983, on 10 October 2018. Every five years local authorities are required to compulsory review its UK Parliamentary polling districts and polling places.

We would like to invite interested parties, stakeholders, political groups and electors to make any comments on the proposed changes to its Polling Districts and Polling Places. The full details of the consultation and proposals can be viewed on this website. The Council undertook a pre-consultation in 2017 - 2018 on its existing polling stations.

The proposed changes to the Polling Districts and Polling Places have also taken into account the changes to Cheshire West’s ward boundaries, made by the Local Government Boundary Commissions. The Commission’s final recommendations can be seen on their website. 

Between 10 October and 7 November 2018 electors and stakeholders from within the following Parliamentary Constituent areas may make representations on the above.

Constituency consultations

All maps are produced in accordance with OS copyright:© Crown copyright and database rights 2018. Ordnance Survey 100049046.

Supporting documents

The Local Returning Officer for the below mentioned parliamentary constituencies has now made and published his comments on the proposed polling stations and districts.

The Acting Returning Officer for the above mentioned Parliamentary constitutencies undertook a pre-consultation in 2017-18 on the existing polling stations. All comments received at this pre-consultation stage have been considered when making the proposals. 

The Council would also welcome representations from any residents or body, particularly disabled residents, on its proposals, the (Acting) Returning Officer’s representatives or any other matters.

Persons or bodies making representations should, if possible, give alternative places that may be used as polling places.   

How to get involved

Representations may be made via:

  • Email: elreg@cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk in the email subject please state “Polling District Review”. Please include in your email which Cheshire West and Chester Ward and Polling District and/or which Ward and Polling Station you are commenting on.
  • By post to: Polling District and Places Review, Democratic Services, 4 Civic Way, Ellesmere Port, CH65 0LB

Access to paper copies of the maps or documents can be viewed from 10 October 2018 at Cheshire West and Chester Council Offices, HQ, 58 Nicholas Street, Chester, CH1 2NP Monday to Friday 9am - 4pm. Please contact Democratic Services Team to make an appointment:

  • Telephone: 01244 977084  

Final proposals will be considered by the Cheshire West and Chester Council’s Audit and Governance Meeting on 28 November 2018 and then agreed by Council meeting on 13 December 2018. 

These revised arrangements, if approved, will come into effect for the May 2019 Local Elections. The register for use at the election will be published on 1 March 2019.

Share this page

We use cookies

Cheshire West and Chester Council use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.