School term and holiday dates

    We are responsible for setting dates for community and voluntary controlled schools. In the interests of consistency for families across the borough, we would recommend the adoption of these dates by voluntary aided, foundation, academy and free schools.

    Term and holiday dates for the academic year 2021-2022

    Autumn 2021

    • Wednesday 1 September - Friday 22 October (38 days)
    • Half term: Monday 25 October - Friday 29 October
    • Monday 1 November - Friday 17 December (35 days)
    • Christmas holiday: Monday 20 December - Monday 3 January

    Spring 2022

    • Tuesday 4 January - Friday 18 February (34 days)
    • Half term: Monday 21 February - Friday 25 February
    • Monday 28 February - Friday 1 April (25 days)
    • Spring break: Monday 4 April - Monday 18 April (includes Easter bank holidays)

    Summer 2022

    • Tuesday 19 April - Friday 27 May (28 days)
    • Bank holiday: Monday 2 May
    • Half term: Monday 30 May - Friday 3 June
    • Monday 6 June - Friday 22 July (35 days)
    • Summer holiday: Monday 25 July - Wednesday 31 August

    Return to school: Monday 5 September 2022

    The Education (School Day and School Year) (England) Regulations 1999 (SI 1999 No. 3181) requires schools to have at least 380 half-day sessions (190 days) in each school year, beginning with the first term to start after July. This is consistent with the 195 days a year required by a teacher's statutory conditions of service: the additional five days are for in-service training (known as INSET days).

    The governing body of a school is responsible for setting five INSET days out of the school calendar. The school should communicate this information to parents – via such channels as a letter and/or school newsletter and also publish it on the school website. They should also provide this information to their local authority.

    • Where schools have more than fifty percent of pupils from a neighbouring local authority (LA) they will be permitted to align their term and holiday dates with that LA
    • Voluntary controlled primary schools are permitted to align their dates with the aided secondary school for which they are a named feeder school

    School term and holiday dates

    Common questions