Click4Assistance UK Live Chat Software
Skip to main content

Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education

Members of SACRE

The composition of a SACRE is set out in legislation. The four groups or committees, hereby known as 'the Council', represent the following interests within the local community: Each group or committee must be represented on 'the Council'.

  • Group A: Representatives of Christian denominations, and other religions reflecting the principal religious traditions of the area
  • Group B: Church of England representatives
  • Group C: Teacher representatives (often from the teacher associations)
  • Group D: Local Authority (LA) representatives (often Councillors)

Members may be nominated by appropriate organisations but are appointed by 'the Council'. Other members may be co-opted.