Training and resources

Domestic abuse open access groups

Our open access groups for women affected by domestic abuse run weekly at venues in Chester, Ellesmere Port and Winsford.

The groups are all supported by qualified IDVA’s (Independent Domestic Violence Advocate) who are able to offer confidential advice and support to women relating to a range of subjects surrounding domestic abuse.

The groups provide somewhere for women affected by domestic abuse to go, so that they can seek advice, interact with others, share experiences and allow their voice to be heard. The sessions offer a safe environment where women can also enjoy refreshments and social sessions such as arts and crafts, beauty and wellness.

The sessions don’t require a formal referral from any organisation, women who are affected by domestic abuse can drop into any session at any time during the two-hour timeframe.

The sessions run on a weekly basis, with potential for change on bank holidays and during the school holidays.

Ellesmere Port

The Boat Shed, 112 Whitby Rd, Ellesmere Port, CH65 0AB

  • Monday 5 September, 12pm -2pm: Welcome and get to know | Introduction to journaling.
  • Monday 12 September, 12pm -2pm: Safety - topics include safety planning, legal remedies, police, support for victims.
  • Monday 19 September, 12pm -2pm: Control - topics include coercive control, love-bombing, control cycle.
  • Monday 26 September, 12pm -2pm: Healthy relationships - topics include managing conflict, stages of a relationship, consent.
  • Monday 3 October, 12pm -2pm: Impact on children - topics include parenting, children’s resilience, managing child contact.
  • Monday 10 October, 12pm -2pm: Wellbeing - topics include stress and relaxation, managing emotions, mindfulness.
  • Monday 17 October, 12pm -2pm: Craft and chat.
  • Monday 31 October, 12pm -2pm: Welcome and get to know | Introduction to journaling.
  • Monday 7 November, 12pm -2pm: Beliefs and attitudes around domestic abuse.
  • Monday 14 November, 12pm -2pm: Healthy relationships - topics include managing conflict, stages of a relationship, consent.
  • Monday 21 November, 12pm -2pm: Safety - topics include safety planning, legal remedies, police, support for victims.
  • Monday 28 November, 12pm -2pm: Wellbeing - topics include stress and relaxation, managing emotions, mindfulness.
  • Monday 5 December, 12pm -2pm: Impact on children - topics include parenting, children’s resilience, managing child contact.
  • Monday 12 December, 12pm -2pm: Craft and chat.

Chester

Storyhouse, Hunter St, Chester, CH1 2AR

  • Tuesday 6 September, 10am - 12pm: Welcome and get to know | Introduction to journaling
  • Tuesday 13 September, 10am - 12pm: Safety - topics include safety planning, legal remedies, police, support for victims.
  • Tuesday 20 September, 10am - 12pm: Control - topics include coercive control, love-bombing, control cycle.
  • Tuesday 27 September, 10am - 12pm: Healthy relationships - topics include managing conflict, stages of a relationship, consent.
  • Tuesday 4 October, 10am - 12pm: Impact on children - topics include parenting, children’s resilience, managing child contact.
  • Tuesday 11 October, 10am - 12pm: Wellbeing - topics include stress and relaxation, managing emotions, mindfulness.
  • Tuesday 18 October, 10am - 12pm: Craft and chat.
  • Tuesday 1 November, 10am - 12pm: Welcome and get to know | Introduction to journaling.
  • Tuesday 8 November, 10am - 12pm: Beliefs and attitudes around domestic abuse.
  • Tuesday 15 November, 10am - 12pm: Healthy relationships - topics include managing conflict, stages of a relationship, consent.
  • Tuesday 22 November, 10am - 12pm: Safety - topics include safety planning, legal remedies, police, support for victims.
  • Tuesday 29 November, 10am - 12pm: Wellbeing - topics include stress and relaxation, managing emotions, mindfulness.
  • Tuesday 6 December, 10am - 12pm: Impact on children - topics include parenting, children’s resilience, managing child contact.
  • Tuesday 13 December, 10am - 12pm: Craft and chat.

Winsford

New Images Community Centre, Nixon Drive, Winsford, CW7 2HG

  • Thursday 8 September, 10am - 12pm: Welcome and get to know | Introduction to journaling.
  • Thursday 15 September, 10am - 12pm: Safety - topics include safety planning, legal remedies, police, support for victims.
  • Thursday 22 September, 10am - 12pm: Control - topics include coercive control, love-bombing, control cycle.
  • Thursday 29 September, 10am - 12pm: Healthy relationships - topics include managing conflict, stages of a relationship, consent.
  • Thursday 6 October, 10am - 12pm: Impact on children - topics include parenting, children’s resilience, managing child contact.
  • Thursday 13 October, 10am - 12pm: Wellbeing - topics include stress and relaxation, managing emotions, mindfulness.
  • Thursday 20 October, 10am - 12pm: Craft and chat.
  • Thursday 3 November, 10am - 12pm: Welcome and get to know | Introduction to journaling.
  • Thursday 10 November, 10am - 12pm: Beliefs and attitudes around domestic abuse.
  • Thursday 17 November, 10am - 12pm: Healthy relationships - topics include managing conflict, stages of a relationship, consent.
  • Thursday 24 November, 10am - 12pm: Safety - topics include safety planning, legal remedies, police, support for victims.
  • Thursday 1 December, 10am - 12pm: Wellbeing - topics include stress and relaxation, managing emotions, mindfulness.
  • Thursday 8 December, 10am - 12pm: Impact on children - topics include parenting, children’s resilience, managing child contact.
  • Thursday 15 December, 10am - 12pm: Craft and chat.

Male access groups

For men who have experienced domestic abuse, open access groups are currently available each third Monday of every month at Whitley Village Hall, Warrington WA4 4EJ, 6pm - 8pm.

Starting 1 September 2022

The open access group is the first Thursday of every month at Storyhouse, Chester, 5.30pm - 7.30pm.

Open the Door and start a conversation on Domestic Abuse